Phospholipids and Glycerides

Presented by Professor Emeritus Robert "Bob" Murphy

Professor Emeritus Robert "Bob" Murphy
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Department of Pharmacology, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO
Tuesday, February 25th, 2020
9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 5pm BST
Register Now

About Professor Emeritus Robert "Bob" Murphy

Robert C. Murphy graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a Ph.D. in chemistry. He has worked in the area of mass spectrometry and eicosanoid biochemistry for almost 50 years with much of his research activities centered on the use of mass spectrometry to studies of arachidonic acid biochemistry and formation of the biologically active leukotriene mediators. His interests included the structural characterization of bioactive lipid products derived from the reaction of reactive oxygen species with cellular lipids. Over 500 peer-reviewed papers in scientific journals and several books concerning the mass spectrometry of lipids have been authored by him. He served as President of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry and was on the editorial boards of numerous scientific journals in biochemistry and mass spectrometry. He has received several awards including the Dean’s Mentoring Award, the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award, an NIH Merit Award, and the Eicosanoid Research Foundation Outstanding Achievement Award and was appointed as a University of Colorado Distinguished Professor. He retired and was appointed Emeritus Professor in 2018.