Lipidomics update - April, 2018

The lipidomics update provides an overview of developments in lipid research. Each month we offer a fresh collection of research, news and events for the specialist and the interested non-specialist alike.

LIPID MAPS® highlights

LIPID MAPS Classification updates: The LIPID MAPS Classification system, comprised of eight lipid categories -- Fatty Acyls, Glycerolipids, Glycerophospholipids, Sphingolipids, Sterol Lipids, Prenol Lipids, Saccharolipids, and Polyketides, each with its own subclassification hierarchy -- now includes a new Polyketides class, "Phenolic lipids", with 5 subclasses; In addition, there are now 3 new subclasses of Octadecanoids; 3 new subclasses of Eicosanoids; and 7 new subclasses of Docosanoids.

more highlights

Lipid of the month


15R-hydroxy-12S,14R-dioxolane-EET (15R-hydroxy-12S,14R-dioxolane-5Z,8Z,10E-eicosatrienoic acid) is an eicosanoid containing a 1,2-dioxolane (cyclic peroxide) group. Dioxolanes of this type have been generated from enantiomers of 14,15-EET by two mammalian LOX enzymes, 15-LOX-1 and platelet-type 12-LOX. This type of transformation could occur naturally with the co-occurrence of LOX and cytochrome P450 or peroxygenase enzymes.

Research library

more articles

logo LIPID MAPS® is funded by a grant from the Wellcome Trust.