Lipidomics of Free and Complexed Fatty Acids, Eicosanoids and Related Oxylipins

Presented by: Professor Ed Dennis


This webinar is comprised of an introductory overview followed by insights into analysis methods
  • Introduction to Fatty Acids, Eicossanoids and Related Oxylipins
  • GC/MS Lipidomics Analysis of Fatty Acids
  • LC/MS Lipidomics Analysis of Eicosanoids and Related Oxylipins

Educational resources related to this webinar can be found in the Tutorials section of the Lipidomics Gateway. In particular, Dr. Dennis recommends our Tutorial Series on Lipid Chemistry and Lipid Metabolomics (PowerPoint slides) and his Fats and Energy Metabolism podcast.

Watch Recording

About Professor Ed Dennis

Dr Dennis initiated, organised and directed the LIPID MAPS® Consortium which began in 2003 and was funded for a decade by the NIH to develop the field of lipidomics. Dr Dennis’ research spans the area of eicosadomics. He has pioneered development of specialist methodologies for the analysis of literally hundreds of lipids and their metabolites, in the process, integrating transcriptomics, proteomics and metabolomics in the emerging systems biology era. Dr. Dennis also has made many seminal discoveries relating to the enzymology of phospholipase A2 isoforms and lipoxygenases in pain, inflammation and infection. He has published over 400 publications including leading the first comprehensive profile of lipids in human plasma in 2010, which has now achieved over 760 citations.

Among the many prestigious roles Dr. Dennis holds, he is on the Board of Directors for Keystone Symposia, Gordon Research Conferences, Lipid Research Inc, and Res-Med Foundation. He has been Chair of the Dept of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCSD, and is visiting research professor at Université Pierre et Marie Curie and Collège de France, Paris. He has been honored with many prestigious awards for his research including the Otto Loewi Memorial Lecture Award, the Avanti Award in Lipid Enzymology, Euro Fed European Lipid Science Award, ACS Distinguished Scientist Award, the David Sigman Memorial Lecture Award, and will receive the ASBMB Bert Vallee Award in Biomedical Science in 2020.

January 14th, 2020
5pm GMT | 9am PST | 12pm EST
Image of Professor Ed Dennis Professor Ed Dennis Chancellor I Chair and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Pharmacology at the University of California, San Diego, CA, USA.